Skip to content

salute to the morning sun

15/11/2010

Hello Sunday Polaroid of Yoga Aid

The alarm shakes at four-thirty. I pull myself out of bed and launch myself into time with the sun. We will rise together. Out on the grass, with a straightened back, I fold in half. The stretch is deep and satisfying. I step into a lunge, enjoy it for a moment, and then propel the front leg back also, lift my bottom high into the air. Adho mukha svanasana, a voice floats in and around the postured bodies assembled here in the park. I push my palms and heels into the ground, lift my hips higher, if possible. At once I am connected to the earth and to the others, with their audible breaths, around me. In. Out. The voice is fluid, in rhythm with the bodies, rising and falling, sliding, sometimes pushing, from one posture to the next. Virabhadrasana first. I step down again into a lunge. I clasp my hands together, extend my index fingers to form a point and aim my arms towards the sky, lift my eyes so that all I can see is the blue, brightening with each inhalation and exhalation. In. Out. I am breathing life into the morning. Or perhaps the morning is breathing life into me.

Find out more about this Hello Sunday exercise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 15/11/2010 9:28 am

    love this! xx

Leave a Reply

