Skip to content

the magic crystal

05/09/2010

There was a woman hovering just inside the entrance. She had a dark ponytail that let her waves topple over her left shoulder, and she was twirling the ends with her fingers. I assumed she was the one I had come to see. ‘Come, sit down,’ she said. There were no chairs, and while I waited for her gesture, she stared at me and squinted her eyes, as though she were thinking hard. ‘In here?’ I asked. She shook her head, and slipped between two thick, black drapes. I followed. ‘Here,’ she said, pointing to a single folding chair. There was no table, or crystal, but a hand mirror placed plainly on the floor. I sat on the chair and waited. ‘You can begin whenever you want, darling,’ she said eventually. ‘I’m sorry,’ I said. ‘Aren’t you meant to tell me my future?’ Again she stared at me and squinted her eyes. ‘You have everything you need,’ she said. ‘To do that yourself.’ She moved closer, picked up the mirror and handed it to me, nodded. ‘This mirror’s as good as a crystal. Even better. One piece of glass but endless reflections of you. All you have to do is find the true one.’ I stood up to leave. ‘Endless reflections?’ I said. I held up the mirror. ‘I only see one face here.’ She squinted her eyes again and smiled. ‘Well, that’s good,’ she said. ‘You obviously know who you are.’ She took my spare hand and squeezed it. ‘Trust yourself then, son. Don’t let others tell you what to do.’

Find out where this Hello Sunday tale took place.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    13/09/2010 8:08 pm

    This one is great! I love what the words are saying & the picture has an old world feel to it.
    Love your work ladies xxx

Leave a Reply

