Skip to content

passerby

04/04/2010

She did not wave back, or even smile that I can recall, but her gaze did not shift and we maintained eye contact until the traffic started to move again and I was forced to go forward. That was the first time I saw her. The second time I saw her traffic was sliding easily along and I couldn’t be certain that she recognised me. It was a brief passing and I wasn’t able to wave or even turn my face directly towards her. I had worried that I may have upset her, but she was there when I went by again that same afternoon, and this time I was able to stop. We didn’t exchange any words – in fact, I still don’t know her name – but she is not demanding like that. She is quiet and she doesn’t dress to please. She is not ambitious and her opinions count for nothing. On the surface it would appear that she does not have much to offer, but it’s the odd occasion when she winks and I just know: the Santa hat, the bunny ears, are all for me.

Find out more about this Hello Sunday jaunt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    06/04/2010 7:02 pm

    I love this!!

  2. Vanessa permalink
    08/04/2010 8:40 pm

    Reminds of the ride to school, and the creepy guy who would sit at his window…well I won’t describe what he was wearing…there was not much..anyway..it was like he knew we were coming…and there he was ..creepy old perv…

  3. Aims permalink
    15/04/2010 5:21 pm

    Love it Em… Looks great on the iPhone to!

  4. 18/04/2010 3:27 pm

    Hazel and Aims, thank you 🙂 Great to know it displays well on the iPhone too. Vanessa, we’re sorry this triggered memories of the creepy old guy, he sounds positively, well.. creepy! We promise the nun will always keep her clothes, she’s a much more modest lady.

Leave a Reply

