Skip to content

racecourse rd

14/03/2010

It had been a day of drizzle and she wanted nothing but to stay in bed. ‘You’ll have to get some milk,’ she said. ‘There’ll be somewhere. Just go.’ So I took an umbrella and headed up Racecourse Road, where there was, as she’d said, a number of stores. But I was looking towards the river, further up, at a large gathering. I’d never noticed this majestic red-bricked building before and I started towards it. At that moment the rain grew suddenly heavier and I broke into a dash, into the midst of the crowd, which was, now, moving inside. I followed. I leaned my umbrella against a wall and sat down at the very back, before realising, somewhat daftly, that I had entered a church. The congregation rose to their feet and music began. I went to make a quiet exit, but glancing quickly towards my umbrella, I saw that it was gone. Outside, the weather had not changed, so I remained until the end of the service, and when I emerged the sky was dry, newly blue. I was thankful, but I suspected that later in the week when it inevitably rained once more I’d be in trouble when she realised her umbrella was missing. I supposed, too, that she’d be annoyed about the milk.

Find out more about this Hello Sunday stroll.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beccy permalink
    14/03/2010 6:27 pm

    Lovely work girls, looking forward to the coming weeks.

  2. 14/03/2010 6:41 pm

    Thanks Beccy, we have lots of exciting things in store that we can’t wait to share!

  3. 17/03/2010 10:26 am

    Oh Tegan, you know not to use the word suddenly. I don’t have a problem with it, but don’t mention it to your uni crowd, lest they lynch you. Plus – how do you not realise you’re entering a church?! Funny but. I like that there seemed to be a spiritual awakening of sorts when he left the church, shown by the pathetic fallacy of the blue sky (how do you like them apples?), which which had nothing to do with the service and everything to do with getting the hells outta there.

    Nice one, Tegan. Emma, nice pictorials.

    • 17/03/2010 4:41 pm

      Hi Michael. You sound like a teacher or perhaps a critic for some newspaper… but thank you very much! Feedback is so very welcome in any and every form it comes, and of course, Tegan in particular is always more than interested to get into some textual analysis and hear what interpretations are made of the very teeny stories. Indeed, on that point, just want to suggest that perhaps the blue sky was not a result of escaping the church, but a result of having been in there? Certainly the blue sky represents a change of some description (not necessarily spiritually related but simply because of some time spent thinking and reflecting), as further indicated by the narrator’s apparent nonchalance or ease at what will be his partner’s unhappiness. And yes, it does seem ridiculous to enter a church without realising, but this story was part magical realism and you are asked kindly to suspend your disbelief. Have a great week and hopefully see you back in this space next Sunday!

  4. 20/03/2010 4:46 pm

    Hello!! 🙂

    • 25/03/2010 8:23 am

      Eleni! A big hello right back at you! Was lovely to see and/or meet you last week and we’re happy to see you dropped by to check out our space. If we don’t see you round the real world, maybe see you again soon in cyber space 🙂

Leave a Reply

